Skip to content
NAB SHOW & SCTE JOINT SESSION NAB Show® BEIT and SCTE Cable-Tec Expo® Partner to Offer Concurrent Live Conference Event!

Dual-Site Interconnection Will Link BEIT Conference in Las Vegas and Cable-Tec Expo in Atlanta.

This event will include live panels and interactive discussions that explore timely topics, such as dynamic ad insertion, NextGen TV, and more.

The live joint forum links SCTE Cable-Tec Expo in Atlanta with NAB Show’s Broadcast Engineering and Information Technology (BEIT) Conference in Las Vegas.

Tuesday, October 12, 2021
1:00pm – 5:00pm EDT (10:00am – 2:00pm PDT)

The dual-site event takes place during the BEIT Conference in Las Vegas, which will celebrate its 75th anniversary at NAB Show, October 9-13, 2021, and SCTE Cable-Tec Expo, October 11-14, 2021 in Atlanta. The program will conclude with networking receptions in both Atlanta and Las Vegas.

The joint forum will be the first live, bi-coastal collaboration between SCTE, a subsidiary of CableLabs, and the National Association of Broadcasters, organizer of NAB Show. SCTE and NAB have previously partnered to provide content for their respective events.

Joint sessions will include live, interconnected presentations and audience questions originating from both Cable-Tec Expo in Atlanta and the BEIT Conference in Las Vegas, with hosts at each location to field questions and moderate the conversations. The dual-site event will include live panels and interactive discussions that explore timely topics, such as dynamic ad insertion, NextGen TV, and more.

Agenda – Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Welcome & Leadership Chat

1:00pm – 1:30pm EDT (10:00am – 10:30am PDT)

SPEAKERS:

Sam Matheny
EVO & CTO
NAB

Chris Bastian
SVP, Engineering & CTO
SCTE®, a subsidiary of CableLabs

MODERATOR:

Jeff Baumgartner
Senior Editor
Light Reading

Next Gen TV for Broadcasters and MVPDs

1:30pm – 2:15pm EDT (10:30am – 11:15am PDT)

Since television was invented in the early 1900’s it has continuously evolved to add finer detail, accuracy and features. This evolutionary trend does not show signs of slowing down. Recent advances include high dynamic range (HDR), 4K and 8K resolutions, wide color gamut, IP delivery, interactivity, and the new ATSC 3. 0 standard for over-the-air broadcast. This session explores the impact these technologies will have on broadcasters and multichannel video programming distributors (MVPDs) and considers how they can best capitalize on the new features enabled by these technologies. Methods to achieve parity between linear channel feeds and IPTV clients will be discussed, along with new mechanisms in MPEG-2, the SCTE 214 MPEG-DASH standards and the SCTE 104/35 digital program insertion standards that can be used to preserve linear channels as video streams through mapping to DASH structures.

 

Dynamic Ad Insertion

2:15pm – 3:00pm EDT (11:15am – 12:00pm PDT)

Two decades ago, digital ad insertion took a giant leap forward with the release of the SCTE 35 standard, which has since become the core signaling standard for advertising and distribution control of content. The technology and standards have subsequently continued to advance. In this session, industry experts discuss the latest technologies in use or being developed for dynamic ad insertion. Topics include the SCTE 224 Event Scheduling and Notification Interface (ESNI), which allows management of IP-delivered content with event and policy information and other features used in existing systems. Related discussions include use of the SCTE 250 Real-time Event Signaling and Management API standard to enable interoperability of products regardless of function or supplier, control of regional blackouts with alternate content selection, market protection or other content restrictions, advertising breaks, ad replacement, and addressable advertising opportunities. The experts in this session also consider the new ATSC 3.0 standard, which includes specifications for event delivery and interactive content, and ways to optimize these and other standards to maximize customer experience and advertising profitability.

 

Break

3:00pm – 3:30pm EDT (12:00pm – 12:30pm PDT)

 

Personalization / Regionalization

3:30pm – 4:15pm EDT (12:30pm – 1:15pm PDT)

Today, advertising is more important than ever, and those who can target ads to the correct consumers will likely benefit substantially. This panel examines methods to optimize advertising and alternate content delivery, including tools available to determine the market segments, target ads and measure success. Discussion includes an overview of technologies available and thoughts about how localized targeting can be with existing systems. The session also considers technology advances required to enable precise one-to-one marketing, by which consumers feel that the ads are speaking directly to them and addressing their unique needs.

 

Roundtables/Reception

4:15pm – 5:00pm EDT (1:15pm – 2:00pm PDT)

About NAB Show

NAB Show, held October 9–13, 2021, in Las Vegas, encompasses media, entertainment and technology and is the ultimate marketplace for those seeking to create superior audio and video experiences. From creation to consumption, across multiple platforms, NAB Show is where global visionaries convene to bring content to life in new and exciting ways. For complete details, visit www.nabshow.com

nabshow_400x85

About NAB

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America’s broadcasters. NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs. Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at nab.org

NAB_400x150
Sponsorships and speaking opportunities available.

– SPONSORED CONTENT –