Skip to content

Applause and Appetites

SCTE® Salutes Excellence Achieved Throughout the Industry’s Workforce—a Workforce the Society is Committed to Keeping up-to-date, Competent, and Prepared for What’s Next to Drive Cable’s Profitability Even Higher.

Annual Awards Luncheon & Fireside Chat

Wednesday, September 21

11:30 AM–1:00 PM EDT

Terrace Ballroom

Premium sponsors:

Keynote Fireside Chat

We’re Proud to Welcome Chef Robert Irvine of “Restaurant: Impossible”

For 20 seasons, Chef Irvine, host of Food Network’s hit show “Restaurant: Impossible,” has been turning around restaurants across America that are facing an impending demise. With a limited budget and two days to work, he uses his creativity and resourcefulness to turn the eatery’s fortunes around. And as a Comcast Business partner of 10 years, Irvine knows the transformational role the right technology plays in powering possibilities. That is what makes him uniquely suited to share advice and true accounts from his vast and diversified experience with this year’s award winners and answer the question. “When things seem Impossible… what do you do?”

Convene with fellow attendees to applaud this year’s recipients of the following awards and recognitions—and learn what distinguished them:

• SCTE Member of the Year Award
• Chairman’s Award
• Excellence in Standards Award
• SCTE Hall of Fame Induction
• Excellence in Learning and Development Award
• SCTE/WICT Women in Technology Award
• Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr. Rising Leader Award
• Chapter Leader of the Year Award
• Cable Tec Games Awards
• Spirit of the Games Award

SCTE Member of the Year AWARD

This renowned award recognizes the SCTE member who has made the most significant contributions to the Society through active participation in its programs and efforts during the past year. The name of the 2022 member of the year has been kept secret until today. Even the winner will be surprised when their name is announced during the Annual Awards Luncheon!

2022 SCTE Member of the Year Recipient:

Rudy Dauncey
Senior Director Network Maintenance

Chairman’s Award

This award is bestowed upon an individual, a group of individuals or an organization that has demonstrated significant support of the Society.

2022 Chairman’s Award Recipient:

Jon Pederson
Chief Technology Innovation Officer

Excellence in Standards Award

The annual SCTE Excellence in Standards Award honors an SCTE Standards Program Participant who has significantly contributed to both the technical standards program and the spirit of cooperation necessary for the success of voluntary standards.

2022 Excellence in Standards Award Recipient:

Andy Scott
Vice President of Engineering

Hall of Fame

The Society’s Hall of Fame comprises members who have made extraordinary contributions to the Society and the industry over the course of time. To be eligible, an individual must have a minimum of 12 years of active SCTE membership and 20 years of industry experience.

2022 Hall of Fame Recipient:

Mark Adams
Director, Access Engineering and Architectures
Cox Communications

Hall of Fame members:

Greg Allshouse
J. Richard ‘Dick’ Beard
Steve Bell
Alex Best
Bob Bilodeau
John Chapman
Jim Chiddix
Walter Ciciora
Terry Cordova
Austin Coryell
Ronald Cotton
Richard Corvell
Leonard Ecker
Tom Elliot
James Farmer
David Fellows
Bob Foote
Thomas Gorman
James Grabenstein

William Grant
Nick Hamilton-Piercy
Ted Hartson
Keith Hayes
Andrew Healey
Ron Hranac
Jim Hughes
Tom Jokerst
William Karnes
Sally L. Kinsman
Jim Kuhns, BCE
John T. Kurpinski, Sr.
David Large, BCE
Dr. Rickey Luke
Dan McKay
Wayne McKinney
Harold Null, Sr.
David Pangrac
Andrew D. Parrott

Cliff Paul
Neil Phillips
Dan Pike
Tom Polis
Rex Porter
Leslie W. Read
Steven Richey
William Riker
Fred Rogers
Dennis Sartori
Rick Sullivan
Larry J. Stiffelman
Jim Stilwell
Eugene White
David Willis
Cathy Wilson
Wendell Woody

Excellence in Learning & Development

The Excellence in Learning and Development Award recognizes the achievements of learning and development professionals within the cable telecommunications community who have demonstrated significant success toward advancing the careers of others through the innovative use of cable telecommunications technology-centric curricula learning programs and/or presenting content in a way that improves the cable knowledge in the industry.

2022 Excellence in Learning & Development Recipient:

Nathan Sidlinger
Manager, Learning and Development

SCTE/WICT Women in Technology Award

This annual award recognizes the achievements of one woman who has demonstrated outstanding personal and professional growth and has significantly contributed to the cable telecommunications industry.

2022 SCTE/WICT Women in Technology Award Recipient:

Toni Stubbs
Vice President, Field Engineering & Operations
Cox Communications

Sponsored By:

Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr. Rising Leader Award

This award will be presented to a rising leader who has made significant contributions and innovations to the cable industry in their early career. This award recognizes the legacy of Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr and his contributions to the cable industry. In addition to the award, a donation will be made on behalf of Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr. to the SCTE Foundation. Andrii Vladyka Technical Product Manager Harmonic

2022 Wilt J. Hildenbrand Jr. Rising Leader Award Winner:

Andrii Vladyka
Technical Product Manager

Sponsored by:

Chapter Leader of the Year

SCTE Chapters and Meeting Groups are an integral and unique element of the Society. They strive to provide training and certification in the local communities and are solely supported by volunteers. Although all chapter leaders are deserving of praise and appreciation, one chapter leader went above and beyond this past year and was previously honored at the Chapter Leadership Conference.

2022 Chapter Leader of the Year Recipient:

Kim Lambert
VP of Communications, Piedmont Chapter
Account Manager

Cable-Tec Games

Each year winners of local Cable-Tec Games compete against each other in the International Cable-Tec Games during Cable-Tec Expo. Through seven categories – cable splicing, meter reading, cable jeopardy, OTDR, fiber splicing, drop connection and MTDR – competitors display their skill, critical thinking abilities and tenacity to edge out the competition to take top honors.

The results of the 2022 Cable-Tec Games Tournament of Champions will be announced during the Awards Luncheon.

First Place:
TJ Diplacido
Charter Communication
North Central Texas Chapter

Second Place:
Tom Hawk
Comcast Cable Communications
Mt. Rainier Chapter

Third Place:
Trey Barnes
North Central Texas Chapter

Presenting sponsor:

Spirit of the Games sponsor:

T-shirt sponsor:

Hat sponsor:

Chapter of the Year Awards

This award recognizes the top 10 percent of SCTE chapters that have completed all compliance requirements and earned the most points across all of the award categories. Congratulations to the top 2021 chapters previously honored at the Chapter Leadership Conference:

1st Place Rocky Mountain Chapter
2nd Place Chattahoochee Chapter
3rd Place Gateway Chapter
4th Place Piedmont Chapter
5th Place Golden Gate Chapter
6th Place Buckeye State Chapter
7th Place Penn-Ohio Chapter
8th Place Central Indiana Chapter

Spirit of the Games Award

The Spirit of the Games Award is presented yearly to a participant, staff member, or host vendor who truly embraces and exhibits sportsmanship and the learning environment at the games. The award is established in memory of David Jones, who had a very strong focus on the spirit of the SCTE Cable-Tec Games. The winner will be announced at the International Cable-Tec Games, held on Wednesday, September 21st.

Spirit of the Games Recipient:
Mary Hunter Mercy
Chattahoochee Chapter

Sponsored by:

SCTE Cable-Tec Expo 2022 Dates

Monday, September 19, 2022 — Thursday, September 22, 2022